[sic] Magazine

Evil Acidhead – In The Name Of All That Is Unholy

Before Wellwater Conspiracy, Hater and Monster Magnet there was Evil Acidhead, arch-stoner John McBain’s outlet for psyche-noise in the 80s. And all 78 minutes of his epic In The Name Of All That Is Unholy, which was originally released on double-cassette, has now been fully remastered for a re-release being handled by the good folk at Agitated.

Keeping himself busy recently mastering heirs apparent Carlton Melton, these seven charged instrumentals smear white-hot guitar noise out into ominous high-altitude prop-thrum that sounds like the start of a bombing raid, lengthy solos fading in and out of psychedelic repeats. Wah wah extravaganza one minute, needling drone and uncompromising scramble-loops the next, In The Name Of All That Is Unholy plays like comms interference during a meteor shower, ever-intensifying guitar raining down like literal space rocks.

“Listen with an open and relaxed mind” as the meditative sample says at the start of sitar-scorched “Looped In The Temple Of Yeti”. Even still this formative and punishing trip to McBain’s fledgling third-eye is not for the faint of heart. Proceed cautiously into the realm of another.

~In The Name Of All That Is Unholy is re-released June 15th 2015 via Agitated.~